Attack on Titan Blanket – Survey Corps Crest

Standard

So I’ve decided to take another crack at colorwork while I am allowing my ex’s blanket that I’d been working on for a very long time sit for a bit before going back to it. However, this time it is for a very good friend of mine who also happens to be the other TA for the first year seminar. This knitting project, for her 21st birthday in February, is going to have to be cunningly completed over J-term and Christmas break when I am sitting in my room by myself with not much else to do. So what am I doing? I’ve decided to make her a blanket with the symbol of one of her favorite animes, Attack on Titan (2013 -). She and I watched most of it together, until such a point that I grew too impatient to watch the rest with her (she’d already seen it once through already) and watched the final few episodes by myself. I must say that I was very proud of myself for getting through this terrifying, surreal, apocalyptic narrative by myself, as this type of narrative has never been my cup of tea. The idea that I have had is that I am going to make a 5’X4′ blanket for her to snuggle up in, because she likes to be warm, and being in New England, that really isn’t a possibility between the months of November to early March.

This is a pattern that I have improvised myself, and we will see if it comes out. Currently the supplies that I have for this pattern are:

  • US Size 9, 60″ circular knitting needles
  • Berroco Vintage yarn (which can be found here at Webs store)
  • and Berroco Vintage Chunky (which can be found here from the same store)

The color that I have in the Chunky is blue, or dye lot 61191. I bought only one skein, which will be apparent when you look at the picture below. For the rest of the yarn that I purchased, it was simply Berroco vintage yarn. I purchased (as of 12/4/2013) 1 skein of black, 4 skeins of green, 1 skein of white, and 2 skeins of grey. I am positive that I will more than likely have to purchase more green yarn, but I am hopeful that since I have 868 yards of it, that I can possibly get through not needing to buy any more.

Here is a picture of the survey corps crest from Attack on Titan to give you an idea of what the middle of the blanket will look like:

Image

Behind the feathers, the background of the shield is grey. I plan to have the crest be 2′ across, with a 1′ border on either side in dark forest green. I also hope to do 1′ at the top and 1′ at the bottom, with 3′ of the crest going up. I am not sure, and will have to play with the measurements as I go. I will post pictures as this pattern progresses along with a definitive pattern for other people to use at their discretion.

I’ve so far created a color work pattern that looks like this, it does need some adjustments but this is roughly what the pattern looks like:

bdaysurveycorps

Once I figure out the gauge of the yarn and the needles I’ll have a better understanding on how exactly the stitches will work in this pattern. Keep your eyes out for updates!

Update #1: I’ve started the crest, and am about a 1/6 of the way through it!

Leave a Reply

