Chia Seed Rampage!

Standard

Lately I’ve been going on a chia seed rampage, ever since I purchased a bag from the local bargain/resale store called Deals n’ Steals, here in Northampton. Image

(I know it’s backwards, but I was taking crappy photos with my photobooth)

However, in my rampage to eat ALL THE CHIA SEEDS, I paused because, well, after I purchased them I wasn’t sure how to actually EAT them. (cue inspirational music and montage of browsing of webpages)

I finally came across a blog that I’ve been meaning to utilize for a while now entitled “Oh She Glows” which has vegan recipes and other things. 

The author helped me with my chia seed rampage by providing many recipes that I could use them in, including an “energy” drink, a vegan pudding, a breakfast bowl, and many other options. I also found via the NYT a smoothie recipe that isn’t half bad, though due to my lactose intolerance can be a bit painful for me to consume (though it is pretty delicious) which can be found here

So, the recipes that I’ve tried with the Chia seeds so far have been the NYT smoothie, good for those who are not lactose intolerant (or if you are if you take precautions), and the Oh She Glows recipe for the breakfast bowl and the “energy” drink.

 

The energy drink was amazing, and while a bit funky with the texture was completely delicious. The recipe, by the author of Oh She Glows is as follows:

Chia Fresca

Email, text, or print this recipe

Yield: 2 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups water or coconut water
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon or lime juice, or to taste
  • Sweetener, to taste (I like 1/2 tbsp maple syrup)

 

1. Add chia and water into a jar or glass and stir very well to combine. Let sit for 10 minutes to allow the chia seeds to swell up. I like to use a jar with a lid so I can shake it up really well and break up the clumps of chia.

2. Add lime or lemon juice and sweetener to taste. Stir (or shake) well to combine and enjoy!

 

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2013/03/01/chia-fresca-a-natural-energy-drink/#ixzz2YXcQJdTM

The notes that I had for this recipe are as follows:

  1. I used an entire lemon for this drink, which turned out to be a great decision. I really enjoy citrus juice, and if you do too I’d suggest using more than the original called for.
  2. I used Honey, which complemented the lemon and chia seeds well. Although not vegan, it is pretty delicious.

For the breakfast bowl recipe:

Chia Seed Breakfast Bowl

I like mashed banana in this because it thickens the mixture while adding a lot of volume. If you aren’t a banana fan, you can omit it, but you might need to reduce the milk and I also suggest adding in your own sweetener and/or other fruit in its place. This porridge is especially creamy when made with Homemade Almond Milk. The thickness of the chia pudding will vary based on the kind of almond milk you use, so you can add more if necessary. If your pudding is too thin for you liking you can add more chia seeds and let it sit for 10 more minutes. Finally, if you aren’t a fan of the tapioca-like texture of chia seed pudding, try blending it until smooth.

Email, text, or print this recipe

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients:

Chia mixture

  • 4 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 – 1.25 cups almond milk (it’s great made with Homemade Almond Milk)
  • 2 small bananas, chopped small
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • two pinches of cinnamon

 

Toppings:

  • 2 tbsp raw buckwheat groats, soaked
  • 2 tbsp raisins, soaked
  • 2 tbsp whole raw almonds, chopped and soaked
  • couples pinches of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds

 

1. Mash bananas in a medium-sized bowl. Stir in chia seeds. Whisk in the almond milk, vanilla, and cinnamon until combined. Place in fridge overnight to thicken.

2. Add buckwheat groats, raisins, and chopped almonds into another bowl. Cover in water and soak overnight in the fridge or on the counter.

3. In the morning, place your desired amount of chia pudding into a bowl. (Note: at this point, you can blend your chia pudding if a smooth texture is desired, but I don’t bother). You can add more almond milk if you want to thin it out in the morning. Or, if it’s too thin, add more chia seeds to thicken it up. Drain and rinse the buckwheat/almond/raisin mixture. Sprinkle on top of chia mixture along with a pinch of cinnamon and a tablespoon of hemp seeds. Serve with a drizzle of maple syrup, if desired. Store leftovers in the fridge for 1-2 days.

 Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/2013/02/18/chia-seed-breakfast-bowl/#ixzz2YXd2yrDv

My notes for this recipe:

  1. I substituted vanilla soymilk because I didn’t have the almond milk, but it was still pretty good 🙂
  2. I also didn’t follow the topping at all. I ended up mixing in craisins and walnuts (not soaked) because I had none of the ingredients that the original recipe called for.
  3. My sweetie really dislikes cinnamon, so while he wasn’t going to be eating any of it this particular time, I tend to avoid using cinnamon ever (also I didn’t have any to use 😛 )

Here are some pictures of my chia breakfast bowl!

Image

Image

 

So, I’m going to try to cool it with the chia seeds (though I have made enough breakfast bowl to last me the rest of the week for breakfast) so that I don’t blow through my expensive on sale bag that I snagged, but look out for more recipes that I find in the next few days!

Stay cool everyone in the face of this July heat wave!

Leave a Reply

